Skip To Main Content

2022 Tech Levy Approved

Voters Approve Renewal of Orono Public Schools Technology Levy; Three School Board Members Selected

Orono School District residents voted to approve the district’s Technology Levy renewal request on the November 8, 2022, ballot: 67% yes to 33% no (unofficial results: 4,732 yes votes to 2,297 no votes). 

This voter approval of the Technology Levy (technically called a Capital Projects Levy) will continue approximately $1.2 million in annual funding for the next ten years to support technology needs for students, staff and families in these areas:

  • Classroom learning and support: Technology tools and teacher training to support excellence in teaching and learning and ensure Orono students are future ready
  • Reliable access throughout the district: Regularly maintained and updated networks, systems, and software to support classroom teaching and learning and district operations
  • Campus security and technical support: A secure internet environment, campus security, visitor management systems and technology support staff

District residents originally approved this Technology Levy in 2002, and have now renewed it in both 2011 and 2022. The levy will continue for 10 more years, providing the school district with a predictable and dedicated source of funding for technology uses throughout the district. Because it was a straight renewal, there will be no associated tax increase for residents.

“We are so grateful to our community for approving this renewal,” said Dr. Kristine Flesher, Superintendent of Schools. “Our teachers, students and families rely on our technology systems both in the classroom and at home to support student learning.”

In Minnesota, school districts are funded by the state and federal governments, as well as through local funding. Voters support their local school district by approving operating levies (for operating expenses), bonds (for buildings) and capital project levies (for technology and safety needs).

Also on the ballot was the selection of three school board members from a slate of seven. The newly elected board members are: Sarah Borchers, Wendy Lundsgaard and Todd Madson. We thank all the candidates for running and appreciate their efforts over the last several months. 

Learn more about the Technology Levy and the school board election

2022 Tech Levy Results

Source: Minnesota Secretary of State as of 11/9/2022

  Votes Percentage
YES 4,732 67%
NO 2,297 33%
Precinct YES NO
LONG LAKE P-01 565 285
MAPLE PLAIN P-01 471 347
MEDINA P-1A 809 396
ORONO P-01 1,323 495
ORONO P-02 748 297
WAYZATA P-01 0 0
Totals 4,732 2,297
Tech Levy Passes